DUI DEFENSE ATTORNEYSOVER 100 YEARS COMBINED EXPERIENCE
The Arizona judicial system is serious about DUI law. Regardless of whether you have been charged with a first-time offense for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or you have been convicted of a DUI in the past, you will face stiff penalties in the courtroom. There are, however, some key differences between the penalties for a first offense and second offense DUI, and understanding those differences is critical to building your best case. The team at Schill Law Group knows the ins and outs of Arizona DUI law and will fight for you regardless of whether this is your first or second offense.
Arizona DUI Defense Lawyers
Under Arizona Law A.R.S. § 28-1381 any DUI conviction, even for a first time offense, requires a mandatory jail sentence ranging from 24 hours up to six months.
At Schill Law Group our DUI defense attorneys have decades of experience fighting DUI charges throughout the state and can help you today. As former prosecutors we understand the criminal process and aggressively fight to protect your rights and freedom.
If you or a loved one are facing DUI charges and need experienced legal help, call us today for a free, no risk consultation. We have over 100 year of combined legal expereince and are ready to put that expertise to use defending you.
First Offense DUI
The state of Arizona has a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to drinking and driving. As such, it has some of the toughest DUI laws in the nation – even for first-time offenders. As a driver, you can be charged with a DUI if you are driving with a BAC of greater than 0.08 or are driving with a drug in your system that is listed in section 13-3401. In addition to this, drivers of commercial vehicles can be charged with a DUI if their BAC is greater than 0.04. If convicted of a DUI for your first time, you may face penalties including:
- less than 10 days in jail
- minimum fine of $250
- Community service
- Additional charges and fees to the prison construction and operation fund, or to the public safety equipment fund
- Installation of an ignition interlock device
- A DUI misdemeanor charge on your record
Second Offense DUI
Because the police and courts take DUIs so seriously, a second offense DUI in Arizona is subject to harsher penalties than a first offense DUI. If you receive two DUI convictions within a seven-year period, you could face consequences such as:
- A minimum of 90 days in jail. This is dependent on your BAC. Those with a BAC between .15 and .199 may be subject to a minimum of 120 days, while those with a BAC above .2 may be required to serve a mandatory minimum of 180 days in jail.
- A minimum of $500 in fines and up to $2500 in fines, plus additional surcharges
- A higher number of community service hours
- The loss of your license for one year
- Installation of an ignition interlock device once driving privileges are restored
- Drug/alcohol evaluations and treatment
- A second DUI misdemeanor charge on your record
What To Do if Arrested for a DUI
If you have been arrested for and charged with driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol, it’s important that you seek legal representation right away. It doesn’t matter if this is your first or second offense, as the charges are still very serious. While in custody, it is generally advised that you exercise your right to remain silent so as not to incriminate yourself. At the first opportunity, reach out to the legal team at the Schill Law Group in order to start listing the facts of your case and building a defense right away.
Building a Strong Case
The Schill Law Group has over 100 years of combined experience in defending DUI cases. As such, we are the best and most qualified law firm to represent you in your first or second offense DUI case. We work to carefully consider each of the unique details surrounding your case in order to build the best defense on your behalf. Our aggressive courtroom tactics and passion for justice make us great at what we do and have resulted in countless favorable outcomes for our clients.
The Schill Law Group has what it takes to fight for defendants in both first offense and second offense DUI cases. DUI charges are serious, especially in Arizona, so don’t face them alone. Contact us today for a free consultation at (480) 680-7432.
Contact Us About Your Case
Can I Get a CDL with a DUI in Arizona?
DUI ATTORNEYS OVER 100 YEARS COMBINED EXPERIENCE Can I Get a CDL with a DUI in Arizona? The driving under the influence conviction on your record can stick with you for a long time. You may be wondering if obtaining a CDL with a DUI on your record is even possible. It...
Arizona Criminal Trespassing Laws
CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS OVER 100 YEARS COMBINED EXPERIENCEArizona Criminal Trespassing Laws by John Schill | Jul 20, 2021 | Criminal Charges Figuring out when a specific action constitutes criminal trespassing can sometimes be tricky. It is a bit more...
What to Expect from Misdemeanor Assault Charges in Arizona
DEFENDING ASSAULT CASES EXPERIENCED AND DEDICATED ATTORNEYSMisdemeanor assault charges are serious accusations. If you are on the receiving end of false assault charges, you need to do everything in your power to fight them. The effects of those charges can be...