(480) 680-7432
Is Fraud a Felony?

Is Fraud a Felony?



Is Fraud a Felony?

Is fraud a felony in the state of Arizona? Considering how potentially damaging the crime of fraud can be, it should come as no surprise that most occurrences of it are considered felonies.


Still, fraud is a broad term, and it covers a wide variety of criminal offenses. Because of that, different kinds of fraud also come with different penalties.

In this article, we will take a closer look at some of the more common types of criminal fraud and how they are regarded in the state of Arizona. We will determine when certain actions become fraudulent and the penalties that you may receive if you commit them.

Please read on to learn more about fraud offenses in the state of Arizona.

Fraudulent Schemes and Artifices

The most serious type of fraudulent crime according to Arizona’s laws involves setting up an elaborate scheme to trick people. Think of pyramid schemes and other organized efforts to defraud hundreds and sometimes even thousands of people and you’re getting at what this law aims to prevent.

Organized schemes can drain people of their life savings and ruin them financially for decades. You don’t need to think hard to understand why such crimes are penalized so heavily.

An important thing to note about this fraud is that those guilty of it may be ineligible to have their sentence suspended or to be released from confinement. That is the case if the fraudulent scheme the person in question engaged in involved the manufacturing or selling of opioids valued at over $100,000.

If they find you guilty of a fraudulent scheme, you will receive a Class 2 felony.

credit card fraud

Credit Card Fraud

Credit card fraud is prevalent in modern society. Advancements in technology allow us to connect easier than ever before. Unfortunately, nefarious individuals have taken advantage of that fact to commit credit card fraud.

The crime of credit card fraud can take on many forms.

Taking control of a credit card that isn’t yours without the owner’s consent is a fraud. Typically, the reason why a third party could assume control of the credit card was because they obtained vital information about it through fraudulent means. Some criminals have been known to use spam emails to obtain the credit card information of their targets.

Stealing a credit card by means of fraud is a Class 5 felony in the state of Arizona.

Making unauthorized alterations to your credit card is another form of fraud. If there’s something wrong with your credit card, you need to contact your bank about that first before doing anything. Acting on your own is an easy way to get into trouble.

Altering your credit card without authorization by the issuing bank is a Class 4 felony.

You could also be guilty of fraud if you knowingly use a credit card that is expired, canceled, or obtained through forgery. Notably, though, they won’t charge you with a felony automatically if you commit fraud this way.

Whether or not you will be charged with a felony depends on the amount you swindled out of others.

If you obtained money, goods, or services valued at over $250 but less than $1000 over a period of six months, you may receive a Class 6 felony. If the amount exceeds $1000, then you’re potentially looking at a Class 5 felony charge.

Insurance Fraud

Insurance fraud is right up there with credit card fraud in terms of how common they are, and you can commit insurance fraud in different ways.

Some people will fake injuries or fabricate incidents that supposedly took place to file a claim with their insurance provider. You can find people who will claim that they were injured in an accident even though they are fine. In extreme cases, some people may even set fire to their property to claim insurance payments.

People do those things in the hopes of receiving compensation even though they are not currently qualified to receive that financial benefit.

You should also know that providing fabricated pieces of evidence to support an insurance claim can be regarded as fraud. Honesty is important when filing an insurance claim because misrepresenting the facts or outright lying can land you in serious legal trouble.

Committing insurance fraud is a Class 5 felony in Arizona.

Mortgage Fraud

New homes are major investments, and most people cannot pay them off in one go. Usually, buyers will take out mortgages to afford their new homes.

Lenders are careful when it comes to choosing who they will approve for loans. They need to be because they don’t want borrowers who will struggle to make payments. They are businesses after all, and they need paying customers to turn profits.

Because of how strict lenders tend to be during the approval process, some borrowers feel pressure to embellish or simply lie to receive their money. The temptation to lie in that situation can be overwhelming, but you need to avoid committing that white collar crime.

Lying on your mortgage application or simply withholding information that can have a material impact on it in one way or another constitutes fraud. Further actions involving that fraudulent loan may also be a crime.

The penalties you may face depend on your history when it comes to mortgage fraud. The penalties you may face depend on your history when it comes to mortgage fraud. Those who were guilty of committing mortgage fraud for the first time in Arizona will receive a Class 4 felony. Repeatedly engaging in this pattern of behavior may land you a Class 2 felony charge.

Fraudulent Attempt to Sell a Home Owned by a Married Couple

A lot of couples opt to take joint ownership of a significant investment such as a new home. It’s not something many married couples worry about because they don’t assume that anything will happen that can change their relationship.

Sadly, not all marriages last, and once happy couples seek a divorce for one reason or another. In cases where the split is amicable, the division of assets is no problem. It can be handled properly by the former couple and their attorneys.

Not all divorce proceedings are amicable, though. There are cases where the opposing sides attempt to ruin one another.

As a last-ditch effort to make their former partner miserable, one of the spouses may attempt to sell their home even though their partner’s consent is required for that transaction. To get around that problem, the seller may indicate that their former spouse is also onboard with the idea.

That kind of action is a criminal offense. It is specifically seen as a Class 5 felony in Arizona.

is fraud a felony

Seller Fraud

Online selling has become a viable way of making money for many people these days. You can easily find people with the entrepreneurial spirit using social media to promote their goods and services.

Small business owners benefit greatly from the emergence of the online marketplace. However, some devious individuals take advantage of the online marketplace to trick people.

Bogus sellers will accept payments online then suddenly terminate their account to make themselves difficult to track down. Others may claim that they have sent the goods, but the delivery services lost them and there is now nothing they can do.

Failing to provide goods or services that were purchased from you legally is a crime.

This is another case where the amount of the goods or services bought will determine the severity of the crime committed. If the total amount of transactions that took place over six months is valued at over $100, they can charge the person who failed to provide the goods or services with a Class 6 felony.

Utility Services Fraud

Paying for utilities every month can be expensive. If you’re having a tough time keeping up with your food expenses, you may neglect those utilities and accidentally allow them to pass their deadlines.

Tinkering with those utilities and their connections can spell trouble for you from a legal standpoint.

Connecting a property to a supply line after a utility person cuts it off is illegal unless the service in question authorized it. Manipulating the connections so that the meter measures the consumption of a particular utility is also illegal. Even if you were not the one who changed the connection, you can still be penalized if it’s proven that you knew about the tampering.

Other forms of tampering with utility services that companies did not consent to are all considered illegal actions.

That kind of violation is a Class 6 felony.

Welfare Fraud

The government provides welfare programs to help support their less fortunate citizens. Some of these welfare programs give people a means to obtain food.

Welfare programs are supposed to provide support for a select group of citizens. Not everyone is eligible for them, although some individuals may attempt to trick the system to receive benefits they don’t deserve.

Engaging in welfare fraud is a crime. Those who are guilty of committing welfare fraud will receive a Class 6 felony.

Insolvency Fraud

Insolvency proceedings sometimes become necessary when a company or individual is no longer capable of meeting their debts. The proceedings allow the company or individual in question to setup payment plans. If the proceedings go well, they can weather the storm somewhat.

Some individuals may attempt to defraud their creditors, however.

They may do so by falsifying documents, misrepresenting their possessions, or even damaging their own property. People going through insolvency proceedings may do those things to hold on to whatever possessions they can.

Needless to say, committing insolvency fraud is a bad idea. Anyone guilty of insolvency fraud may receive a Class 6 felony.

The Penalties for Committing Fraud

Is fraud a felony in the state of Arizona? We’ve now determined that several types are felonies in the eyes of the law.

But what does committing a felony entail? What penalties could you face after being found guilty of committing a felony?

The penalties you may need to face will vary depending on the specific type of felony you committed. Let’s go over them in this section.

Class 6 Felonies

Class 6 felonies carry the lightest penalties.

The minimum sentence for committing a Class 6 felony is six months in prison. Presumptive sentences go up to a full year, while the maximum length of a prison sentence for that type of crime is eighteen months.

Class 5 Felonies

Committing a Class 5 felony means that you will likely spend nine months in prison. If you get the presumptive sentence, you will endure eighteen months. The maximum for a Class 5 felony is two years.

Class 4 Felonies

Individuals guilty of committing a Class 4 felony will spend eighteen months in prison on the low end. A presumptive prison sentence for a Class 4 felony is two and a half years. The maximum sentence for this crime is three years in prison.

Class 2 Felonies

None of the felonies we discussed here in this article are Class 3 felonies, so let’s skip ahead to Class 2 felonies. Class 2 felonies carry heavy penalties.

The minimum sentence lasts for four years. After that, you have the presumptive sentence that is set at five years. Those who are handed down a maximum sentence for committing a Class 2 felony are likely going to spend the next ten years in prison.

Additional Penalties

Being a repeat offender means that you will receive even harsher penalties for your crimes. In some cases, offenders may be sentenced to more than thirty years in prison due to their repeated violations.

Felony fraud charges need to be taken seriously. You must be ready to fight back against false charges or else you could end up in prison for a crime you did not commit. Get in touch with us at the Schill Law Group today and we’ll help you handle those felony fraud charges.

My Teen Was Arrested for a DUI – Now What?

Defending the People of Arizona

With more than 100 Years of combined experience

My Teen Was Arrested for a DUI – Now What?

The next few months will be a very busy period for Arizona teenagers. Spring break often means time out of school and partying with friends. April brings Prom dances and an increase in underage drinking. Graduation is also a time for parties and living it up. All of this leads to the increased risk of teenagers drinking or smoking marijuana and getting behind the wheel of a car. So what happens if your teen is arrested for a DUI? Read on to learn more.

Consequences of an Underage DUI in Arizona

We’ve said it before and we’ll say it again: Arizona has some of the toughest DUI laws in the nation. The Arizona police force and court system don’t take it any easier on teens who drink and drive than adults who are charged with the same crime. In fact, teen drivers are subject to even more scrutiny than those who drink and drive at the legal age of 21.

Arizona has what is known as a “zero tolerance” policy for underage drivers. While a driver aged 21 or older may be arrested for a DUI if he or she shows significant impairment or has a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) of .08 or higher, a teenager may be arrested for a DUI if he or she has a BAC of any higher than 0.0. So, what happens if a teenager is arrested for a DUI? What consequences does he or she face? Here’s a look at six of the most common penalties for drinking and driving underage:

  • Juvenile Detention or Imprisonment – Underage drivers who are still under the age of 18 may be faced with as many as six months in a juvenile detention center. Those who are legally considered to be adults but still under the legal drinking age may also face imprisonment in a county jail. These individuals will also receive a misdemeanor charge on their adult records.
  • Fines – Even underage drivers can be charged with significant fines if convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Parents of minors charged with a DUI may be responsible for the $2500 in fines, as well as any court fees or attorney fees.
  • Driving Suspension or Restrictions – The driver’s licenses of underage drinkers will often be suspended or revoked for a specific length of time after being charged with a DUI. Judges are very strict with this policy because they want underage drinkers to learn about the severe penalties associated with drinking and driving. Even when driving privileges are reinstated, your teen may be required to install an ignition interlock device which will ensure that he or she is unable to operate the vehicle while under the influence of alcohol.
  • Treatment Programs – In some cases, an Arizona judge may see fit to assign the arrested and convicted teen to rehabilitation or treatment programs for drug and/or alcohol abuse. This may mean that a teen is required to attend a certain number of Alcoholics Anonymous or Narcotics Anonymous meetings, or it could mean that your teen will need to live in an in-patient treatment center for a specific number of days or months.
  • Community Service – Many Arizona judges will assign underage drinkers who have been convicted of a DUI to community service hours. These hours must be completed in a certain window of time in order to avoid further fines or repercussions.

What to Do If Your Teen is Arrested for a DUI

Because the penalties for an underage DUI are so hefty in Arizona, it’s important that you act quickly after your child is arrested.

Be sure to reach out to expert legal representation immediately. The Schill Law Group is here to help in your hour of need. Call us to schedule a free case evaluation today.

Accused of Domestic Violence? Here’s What You Need to Know

Defending the People of Arizona

With more than 100 Years of combined experience

Accused of Domestic Violence? Here’s What You Need to Know

Being accused of domestic violence in Arizona is a big deal. Although the word “domestic” may seem to soften the allegation, the truth is that courts view domestic violence as a serious offense and the penalties can be severe, ranging from misdemeanor to felony charges. Although being faced with such charges can be stressful, it’s important to keep your cool. Understanding what constitutes domestic violence in Arizona and the process of building up a defense and going through the court system will help you get through this difficult time a little easier. Here’s a quick primer on what you need to know about domestic violence in Arizona.

Understanding What Constitutes “Domestic” Violence

Throughout the years of working on domestic violence cases, the team at Schill Law Group has encountered many individuals who are confused by the term. As an example, an accused individual may not believe that his (or her) act should be considered “domestic” violence because the accuser is not his spouse. In reality, there are many different scenarios which can be considered domestic violence. In addition to violent acts occurring between spouses, the state of Arizona views the following types of situations to be domestic violence:

  • When the parties were formerly married.
  • When the parties have a child together or the alleged victim is pregnant with the accused’s child.
  • The parties are related by blood or by law.
  • The parties live in the same household or formerly lived in the same home.
  • The parties are involved in a romantic or sexual relationship.
  • Other similar situations as determined by law enforcement and/or the court system.

By this definition, acts of domestic violence can be carried out against siblings, children, boyfriends/girlfriends, or even in-law parents. Knowing this will help you understand why you have been accused of domestic violence and whether or not the charge is correct for your case. Be sure to inform your attorney of the exact nature of your relationship with the alleged victim so that your attorney can build the best argument for your defense.

Types of Domestic Violence

Assuming that the above criteria are met for a domestic relationship between an alleged victim and the accused, there are a number of offenses that are considered to be domestic violence. In fact, under ARS 13-3601, there are 29 different types of offenses that qualify. Again, understanding the different offenses can help you determine whether or not you have been wrongfully accused or if you are being falsely charged of domestic violence. Some of the many types of domestic violence offenses that are prosecuted in Arizona include:

  • Negligent homicide
  • Manslaughter
  • First and Second Degree Murder
  • Endangerment
  • Threats/Intimidation
  • Assault/Aggravated Assault
  • Custodial Interference
  • Sexual Assault
  • Kidnapping
  • Unlawful Imprisonment
  • Criminal Trespass
  • Criminal Damage
  • Unlawful Distribution of Images

Understanding the Penalties for Domestic Violence

There’s no “one-size-fits-all” penalty for domestic violence in Arizona. The Arizona court system views each unique case carefully in order to determine how to proceed with criminal charges. The prosecution will gather the facts and, if he or she believes there is enough evidence against you to proceed, they will decide whether to charge you with a misdemeanor or felony.

Because the range of penalties is so great, and can include everything from fines to anger management classes to time in jail or prison, it’s critical that you hire an experienced attorney who can evaluate the specific facts as they pertain to your case and build the best argument in your defense.

If you or a loved one have been accused of domestic violence, we urge you to seek legal counsel immediately. Having an experienced attorney on your side can help you build the best case for your unique circumstances and ease your stress during this time of crisis. Contact the team at Schill Law Group for a free case evaluation today.

Can I Legally Grow Marijuana in Arizona?



Can I Legally Grow Marijuana in Arizona?

The New Arizona Laws Regarding Marijuana

Arizona laws pertaining to marijuana are changing. The results of the most recent election made big changes to the laws concerning growing medical marijuana and marijuana usage in general.

Keeping up with the new laws is essential if you’re planning to use marijuana more moving forward or perhaps considering growing your own plants at home. We’ll be discussing the most notable changes here.

Stay on top of the new marijuana laws to steer clear of trouble while simultaneously exploring the new opportunities available to you.

The Passage of Proposition 207 and Its Impact on Arizona’s Marijuana Laws

Residents of Arizona voted on changes to marijuana laws in the most recent general election. They were given the chance to do that by either voting “yes” or “no” to Proposition 207.

After tabulating the results, Arizona officially certified the passage of Proposition 207. The passage of Proposition 207 brings sweeping changes to the laws that were previously on the books.

Generally speaking, the laws regarding the usage and cultivation of marijuana have eased significantly. Let’s discuss those changes in greater detail below.

Who Can Use Marijuana in the State of Arizona?

The passage of Proposition 207 means that more Arizona residents are now eligible to use marijuana in the state. Previously, only individuals who had an Arizona medical cannabis card could use marijuana.

The new laws now expand that to include all adults over the age of twenty-one. Notably, those under the age of twenty-one still need to be medically qualified before they can purchase or use marijuana.

Adults over the age of twenty-one can purchase no more than one ounce of marijuana at a time. For medical marijuana users, the limit is no more than 2.5 ounces purchased throughout fourteen days.

Are There Restrictions on Adult Marijuana Usage?

While the state of Arizona is now more accommodating to marijuana users, there are still certain restrictions in place designed to protect public safety.

For example, residents are still not allowed to drive after using marijuana. That could be a DUI violation, and you could find yourself in serious trouble if you ignore that rule.

Users are also not allowed to smoke marijuana in public. Stay at home if you wish to partake in marijuana usage.

Marijuana Cultivation for Adults

The laws governing the growing of marijuana have changed quite a bit thanks to the passage of Proposition 207. Adults over the age of twenty-one now have more freedom in that regard.

Per the new laws, adults over the age of twenty-one can grow their own marijuana plants. An adult is limited to growing no more than six marijuana plants inside their home. If two or more eligible adults are living in your home, you can grow twelve marijuana plants but no more than that.

Another important thing to note here is that you must choose an appropriate place to grow the marijuana plants before proceeding with cultivation. You cannot grow the plants anywhere.

Cultivators must grow the marijuana plants inside an enclosed space such as a room or closet that is adequately secured. The growing space for marijuana plants must not be accessible to any minors.

Medical Marijuana Cultivation

Medical marijuana patients and caregivers can grow marijuana plants at home if they live a certain distance away from the dispensary. More specifically, medical marijuana patients and caregivers can grow their plants if they live 25 miles or more away from a dispensary.

Individuals cultivating marijuana for medical use can grow up to twelve plants.

Can You Sell the Marijuana Plants You’re Growing at Home?

The state of Arizona still does not allow individuals  to sell marijuana plants they grow at home. You cannot pick up a plant and sell it to a friend whenever you like. Doing so could lead to you being charged with a crime and receiving penalties.

If you are interested in selling marijuana, you need to register as a marijuana establishment first.

What Is a Marijuana Establishment?

A marijuana establishment is an entity recognized by the state of Arizona as a retail location that can legally sell and cultivate marijuana. To be more specific, the licensee present at that establishment is permitted to sell marijuana and other marijuana products to adults over the age of twenty-one.

Individuals who want to become licensees for marijuana establishments can get to work now on preparing their applications. Early applications for marijuana establishments will be accepted from Jan. 19, 2021, up to March 9 of the same year.

Interested licensees must meet certain criteria.

The prospective licensee must first be looking to get established in a county currently being served by fewer than two non-profit medical marijuana dispensaries.

Non-profit medical marijuana dispensaries can also apply to become a marijuana establishment. To get their application granted, the dispensary must be registered and have no outstanding issues with the Arizona Department of Health Services.

What Happens if a Non-Profit Medical Marijuana Dispensary Is Allowed to Operate as a Marijuana Establishment?

We noted above that non-profit medical marijuana dispensaries can also apply to operate as marijuana establishments. What exactly will applying for that additional designation mean?

Upon being granted a license to operate as a marijuana establishment, a medical marijuana dispensary will be allowed to cater to more people. The establishment can continue to provide marijuana to qualified patients. At the same time, the establishment will also be allowed to sell marijuana to adults over the legal age.

Can Marijuana Usage Affect an Individual’s Employment Status?

Whether or not you will be allowed to use marijuana at your workplace will depend on your employer. Employers are still allowed by law to keep marijuana out of their offices, and you will need to comply as an employee.

It is worth noting that qualified medical marijuana users can be an exception to that rule. Talk to a lawyer if you wish to learn more about potential medical marijuana usage in the workplace.

Proposition 207 is easing the restrictions the state of Arizona used to have on marijuana usage and cultivation. Hopefully, you are now more aware of what you can legally do with regards to marijuana.

If you believe that you are being wrongfully accused of committing a crime involving marijuana, contact us at the Schill Law Group right away. We’ll prove your innocence and get you fair compensation for being subjected to that ordeal needlessly.

If you or a loved one have been charged with illegally growing marijuana plants, The Schill Law Group is here to help you fight your case. Reach out to one of our legal professionals for a free case evaluation today.

What to Expect After a DUI Arrest

Defending the People of Arizona

With more than 100 Years of combined experience

What to Expect After a DUI Arrest

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is no laughing matter – especially in the state of Arizona. With some of the strictest DUI laws in the nation, Arizona is notorious for stopping and arresting impaired drivers. So, what happens when these drivers are pulled over and detained by the police? What about after the arrested driver is released from jail? How long does the DUI process take? Read on to learn everything you need to know about what to expect after a DUI arrest.

The Arrest

If an Arizona police officer believes that your driving is impaired by alcohol (regardless of your BAC) or other substances, he or she will likely place you under arrest. At this time, you will typically be handcuffed and placed in the backseat of their police car. This step is usually taken as a means of preventing you from forcing yourself to vomit before taking a breathalyzer/ blood test.


After the arrest, you may be escorted to a local precinct or to a mobile DUI van. At this time, you will probably be asked many questions by the police. You have the right to remain silent or to request an attorney. It’s in your best interest to not answer any questions that may incriminate you. Beyond giving the police your driver’s license, vehicle registration, and insurance info, you are not legally obligated to disclose any further information.

Breathalyzer/Blood Testing

Next, you will be asked to submit to a breathalyzer or blood test. Any results from this type of testing could be used as evidence against you in the Arizona court system. Should you refuse testing, however, you will receive an automatic driver’s license suspension for a period of one year.


Depending on the circumstances surrounding your arrest, you may be released into the care of a sober friend, relative, or cab driver, or you may be booked into jail. Generally speaking, you will be booked into jail in situations where you have an outstanding warrant for your arrest, you failed to provide identification, if you are aggressive with the police officer, or if there are other aggravating conditions.

Court Appearance

Regardless of whether you were released or booked into jail, you will be issued a citation and a court date. After investigating your BAC results, arrest circumstances, and criminal history, a prosecutor will decide whether to charge you with a misdemeanor or felony DUI. Misdemeanors are usually handled by a city court, whereas felony DUIs are handled in superior court.

Having an experienced attorney like ours at the Schill Law Group represent you in the courtroom can help your case significantly. Hiring legal representation shows that you are taking your DUI arrest seriously and are willing to do what it takes to make amends. It is highly advisable that you never appear in court without a lawyer.


Finally, a judge will issue your sentencing. Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, you could face a number of consequences ranging from DUI education, loss of your license, ignition interlock systems, fines, community service, and jail time. Your lawyer will best be able to evaluate the conditions surrounding your DUI and provide you with the most accurate information on what to expect.

Have you or a loved one been arrested for a DUI in Arizona? There’s no need for you to go it alone during this difficult time. The Schill Law Group has years of experience with DUI cases and we are here to walk you through the process and fight to secure the best outcome. Call our office to schedule a free case consultation today.

Dangerous Drug Charges and What Can You Expect?

Defending the People of Arizona

With more than 100 Years of combined experience

Dangerous Drug Charges and What Can You Expect?

Drug possession charges are always a big deal, but some drugs are considered to be more serious than others. “Dangerous Drug” possession is considered a Class 4 Felony in Arizona. Because this class of felony charge can result in lengthy jail sentences and hefty fines, it’s important to understand what constitutes a “dangerous drug.” After all, the term “dangerous drug” seems somewhat vague and subjective. Under Arizona law, however, there are no gray areas. Today’s post will outline what a dangerous drug really is and what you can expect if charged with possession.

What are “Dangerous Drugs” in Arizona?

Although it could be argued that all drugs (even legal ones) are dangerous in certain quantities, the state of Arizona has a much narrower definition of what constitutes a “dangerous drug.” Generally speaking, a drug is considered to be dangerous when it is an illegal narcotic other than marijuana. The list is extensive, but some of the most commonly abused drugs that are included on the list of drugs deemed “dangerous” under Arizona law include:

  • Methamphetamines
  • LSD
  • Ecstasy
  • Steroids
  • Mescaline
  • MMDA
  • GHM
  • Clonazepam
  • Psilocybin Mushrooms (“Magic” Mushrooms)

The attorneys at Schill Law Group can provide you with the full list of dangerous drugs for your review. We have worked numerous cases involving the possession of dangerous drugs and have skillfully helped countless defendants navigate their legal options when facing such a charge. Through aggressive courtroom tactics, we have achieved many positive case outcomes, including dismissed cases and reduced charges.

Possession of Dangerous Drugs in Arizona

The most common dangerous drug charge in Arizona is for possession. If you are arrested for a first or second offense of possessing a dangerous drug, you could face 1.1-3.7 years of jail time, fines, and a felony charge on your record. Third-time offenders and any subsequent offenses may receive jail sentences ranging from 1.5-3.7 years. In cases where the drug involved was not meth, first and second-time offenders may be given the opportunity to attend substance abuse treatment and to submit to random drug testing in lieu of jail time. Successful completion of the program could result in your criminal charges being dismissed; however, failure to complete the program will ultimately result in jail time and harsh penalties. Some first and second-time offenders can also have their charges reduced to a misdemeanor. Having the right lawyer on your team will ensure the best possibility for a favorable outcome.

Other Dangerous Drug Charges in Arizona

Beyond simple possession, there are other ways to get in trouble with Arizona law as it pertains to dangerous drugs. If for instance, you are arrested for possessing dangerous drugs with the intent to sell, you may be charged with a Class 2 Felony which carries a 3-15 year sentence, depending on prior convictions and quantities. The manufacture of dangerous drugs or administering a dangerous drug to another person is also a Class 2 Felony and carries serious penalties including prison time and fines.

Fighting a Dangerous Drug Case in Arizona

Because the state of Arizona takes dangerous drug crimes very seriously, it’s imperative that you have a qualified defense attorney working on your side. Penalties can vary based upon your criminal record, the drugs involved, and the quantities present, and an experienced lawyer will be able to assemble that data and determine the best course of action for fighting your case.


The team at Schill Law Group understands the complexities of Arizona dangerous drug laws and can help you build your very best defense. Have you or someone you love been accused of a crime involving a dangerous drug? Let us start fighting for your rights today. Call the attorneys at Schill Law Group for a free case evaluation immediately.